“Someone” needs a card

“Excuse me, Sir, I will need to consult my manager.”

Hhhhhrrrruuuummmph  . . .

………… (scuttling sound down the hallway) …………

“No documents, says he owns the Universe, built it in fact !”

Oh, I know that place, down by the fish and chip shop, the bowling alley on the other side, or is that the Universal, anyway, whatever, ….

“Well, I dunno, he reckons its global, with big potential, expanding all the time. But he got no documents, nuthin’ at all.”

“Come on, you know the rules, no docs – no card. He might as well not exist if he ain’t got docs.”

“Yeah, I know, but he’s sort of insistent, sort of stare that bores through you. Know what I mean? Like he knows more than I do – unnerving.”

“How can he have no docs if he built the place? he’d need planning permission, Union contracts, cash on the nail deposits for utilities, safety and fire inspections, under the counter sweeteners for ‘ornery aldermen, and God only knows what else. City Halls gotta have filing cabinets full of it.”

“They can’t turn up nothing – I checked good -and he says the whole thing was built from scratch – you know – bit by bit – from nuthin’ really – self made type – so that’s why there are no docs. I can’t quite figure it – but seems sort of genuine – can’t put my finger on it.”

“Rules is rules, no documents, no card, hell he could bankrupt us if we don’t check him proper – remember that Angel guy we had in here, and all the crap that followed?  I don’t care if he’s God Almighty.”

“I thought we’d give him a break – just this once, without a rating .. ”

NO way. Whaddya mean he has no credit rating?  Building that outfit without credit – its gotta be hot money, – drugs, women, or summat like that.”

……….. (scuttling sound back down the hallway) …………

“I am sorry sir, we can’t help you. My manager is adamant about documents. Says he don’t care if you are – well never mind. Sorry I can’t be of service- just get us a utility bill even, then we could give it a go, it’d be a start.”

“Yes, well I do understand, lucky for me I have a few other dimensions I can tap into that might help. (blinding flash.) Here … )”

(frantic scuttling down the hallway)

“Hey, this guy is a real treat, he’s got an eviction order from that Universe place, signed by T. A. God and S.T. Peter, and a fistful of fire & safety permits for an ultra-high temperature furnace. Oh yes, and a membership list with names you’ll never believe, and PIN numbers for all their cards too – fished them out a hidden pocket – so no problem! I gave him our top-level GLOBAL Gold Uranium Card, and do YOU ever owe me one!!”

 

 

Leave a Reply

